Customer Reviews

1972 Triumph Tiger TR6 R

 

Just a short note to say a huge 'thanks' for your service and help during the purchase of my BMW R65. You really inspire trust through your knowledge and care and I have no hesitation in recommending you to others. I'm sure I'll be back again!

 

All the best.

Mike

Lytham

May 2022

1981 BMW R65

Thanks Rob - really pleased with it. Thanks for making this a smooth transaction,very much appreciated you getting back to me quickly at various times with updates as this really took the stress out of purchasing the bike ‘unseen’, which is something I had never done.

Best wishes

Nigel

Devon

July 2022

 

1993 Yamaha Virago 750

Hi Rob

Thanks for all your help with buying the Virago it was even better in the flesh

it was exactly as you said it was a bike I have always wanted

Rob was always very helpful throughout I would thoroughly recommend him

Chris    Cornwall

May 2022

Dear Rob, 

I just wanted to say how pleased I am with the purchase of my BMW R80RT. I can't fault you for your service and diligence throughout the whole process of the sale. It is obviously very important to you that the customer is totally happy and you did everything in your power to do that. I wish you all the very best and hope you have continued success in your venture.

With very best wishes, 

Andy D.

York

May 2022

1986 BMW R80 RT

AJS 350 16MS 1952 & AJS Model 20 500 Spring Twin1956

For those of you who have never met or dealt with Rob Jones before let me tell you about my experience. This actually starts many months before I met Rob, many months ago I decided through what I later termed my ‘living will’ that rather than leave my best two mates some beer money, should I go before them, I would buy each of them a classic British motorcycle for their 65th birthdays, which both happen to fall this year 2022. Whether this turns out to be gift or a curse only time will tell. However, having spent months trying to find a couple of suitable steeds and having suffered umpteen disappointments I came across Rob quite by chance. One of my friends or victims birthday was fast approaching in March and I happened to find a suitable looking AJS 350 which was reasonably priced on Facebook marketplace, I later realised that it was also advertised on Car & Classic but I hadn’t spotted it and of course it was also on his website but at this stage I had never heard of Rob Jones Classic Motorcycles. I contacted Rob to see if it was still available and on later chatting with him about it and explaining to him what I was trying to do the manner in which he dealt with my enquiry was nothing short of first class. There was no hard sell or any other bullshit just, what later proved to be, an honest appraisal of the bike and the offer to send video of it running and to answer any questions that may arise. Suffice to say that with my living in Cornwall and the bike being located in Manchester distance purchasing is always fraught with potential hazards, that said the conversations I had with Rob about this particular bike left me in no doubt that I was dealing with a genuine ‘enthusiast’ and as it happened, with my mate living in Lancashire, the location of the bike proved to be very convenient. 

The price was agreed and subject to seeing it in the flesh I arranged to collect the bike from Rob in March, I was not disappointed, indeed it was a lot better than he had described, not a show bike you understand as that was not what was wanted but an honest machine in very good used condition, or as they say a lovely patina, the sort of classic bike that you are not scared of using and getting it dirty, exactly what was required. It was a very enjoyable purchase, tea was provided as was the opportunity to take look at some of the other rather gorgeous bikes he was selling or working on. Rob even helped me to put my collapsible trailer together and load the bike, not once but twice because as it happened I was so impressed with the bike and the man I was dealing with that I bought another AJS of him, a 500 twin this time, this one being for my other mate who lives in Somerset. This was collected a couple of days later and was then delivered to a rather bewildered mate on my way back to Cornwall. There was a problem with the 500 in that the dynamo decided to call it a day and having messaged Rob to see if he had any ideas I was again impressed with his attitude. Rob just asked that it be removed and sent to a chap who he deals with and that he would cover the cost, you cannot ask for more and as it happened I didn’t have to ask as Rob just offered to arrange to have it repaired. If you are looking for a good classic bike and a good, decent and honest person to buy it from then do not overlook Rob Jones, from my experience with Rob I have no hesitation in recommending him, in fact I have been so impressed in my dealings with him that I have just asked him to find a third bike, for me this time, I’m confident that I will not be disappointed.

Phil Hobson
Cornwall

April 2022

1957 Triumph Tiger 100

Good morning Rob,

I'd just like to thank you for selling my T100, good communication from you throughout, nothing too much trouble for you to arrange, and dealing with all paperwork and payment.

Best regards

Derek Whalley

Isle of Man

March 2022

1964 Honda Super Hawk

I purchased a 1964 Honda CB77 Super Hawk from Rob in 2021, a game changing model for Honda and my personal dream bike.
Rob was very helpful and quick to reply with information, pictures and videos, making me feel comfortable buying this bike without ever having seen or tested it in person.
After I requested a quick mechanical checkup, Rob cleaned the gastank and carburators and advised me on some minor work that needed to be done short-term. All free of charge as part of his service.
He helped me set up shipping with Moving Motorcycles to The Netherlands and even though there was some minor delay, the communication was great and the bike arrived safely at my door.

All in all I am extremely happy with Rob’s service and will recommend RA Jones Classic Motorcycles to anyone.

Thanks again for all your help Rob, I couldn’t be more happy with this bike.
Let me know when you find another CB77!

Kind regards, Nolle

February 2022

1978 Triumph Bonneville T140E

I have been looking for a classic motorcycle for the last 4 months, scouring the internet, auction houses and through word of mouth. I came upon a very nice looking bike on Car & Classic Motorcycle listed by Rob. The advert was very well presented and honest about the bike’s condition.  Following a quick phone call (on a Bank Holiday…!)an appointment was made to call in to view the machine at Robs Workshop.  Upon inspection the bike was exactly as Rob had described and following a brief discussion, we shook hands on the deal. I would have struggled to collect the bike, but Rob stunned me buy offering to deliver it himself on a 100 mile round trip for the cost of the fuel. Going the extra mile, Rob then agreed to deliver it on New Year’s Eve (my birthday).  The bike was carefully delivered and looked resplendent with a birthday bow added for special (birthday) effect by Robs wife.

 

From our first phone call to our detailed delivery hand-over I simply cannot fault Rob’s professionalism and attitude.  He is someone I intend to keep in touch with.

 

Craig Hewison

Shropshire

31st December 2021

Triumph Bonneville T120 Project

I recently bought a 1970 T120 Bonneville from Rob. I was very impressed with every stage of the process from pre sale information, arranging collection to communication after the sale. Thanks for excellent service, l wouldn’t hesitate to use you again.

 

Thanks Jeff Parker

November 2021

Triumph Trophy TR6

Thanks Rob for the easy and pleasant purchase of the Triumph Trophy, refreshing to meet a genuine and knowledgeable Classic motorcycle dealer.

Very Pleased with my purchase.

 

Steve Adams Stannington

October 2021

BSA Thunderbolt

I had some great times on my A65 during the six years it was with me; but when I got within sight of 70 I knew it would soon be time to attempt to turn the bike back into cash. Like many, I dreaded the disruption and lurking pitfalls that this would involve.

I was lucky that Googling ‘classic bikes’ and ‘Manchester’ brought up Rob’s website. He didn’t want to take the bike into his own sale collection, but was happy to help me sell it. This he does by taking photographs, advising on price, advertising the bike on his website, arranging viewings and (if the seller is not too far away) attending the viewings to see fair play. An estate agent for bikes; but unlike them he can also arrange transport and storage, deal with international enquiries, and export the bike if need be – this was what eventually happened to my own machine. All the seller has to do is make sure that the payment is in his bank account before Rob releases the bike.

Naturally, he charges a commission for all this, but he more than earns it: what he takes on, he sees through. He is personable, cheerful, honest, knowledgeable and experienced; and he has a can-do approach to all aspects of the bike-trading business. When you contact him he always makes you feel that, for the moment, yours is the only bike that matters!

Martin Thacker

Lymm

Cheshire

September 2021

Triumph Hurricane X-75

Thanks for the follow up call Rob, had just written how well you kept in contact !Once again thank you so much for helping it to happen and look forward to catching up sometime. -  Been looking for a particular bike for a while and one popped up on Rob's site. Rob was great to deal with and turned out had enquired before with him on another bike on which he had given fair and sound advice. Rob gave me once again a very honest and un pressurised opinion of the bike and assured me that I would not be disappointed. Made the trip up from Cornwall to Manchester and to say I was delighted is an understatement. The bike was all Rob said and more, needless to say it returned with me to Sunny Cornwall. A great guy to deal with, could not have been more help and kept in contact answering all calls and texts, would happily recommend to others and deal with again. Thanks Rob you have helped to make a dream come true :)) Graham

 All the best 

 Graham 

 Cornwall

 August 2021

BMW K1200 LT

I recently purchased this bike through Rob, I am delighted with my purchase and with the service that I received. The bike was as described and I did not feel uneasy at any stage of the transaction. Rob's recommended transport specialist was also very good and I would be happy to use his or Rob's services anytime in the future.

Robert Goodwin

Solihull

July 2021

1972 Triumph Daytona

Hi Rob, I’d like to thank you for making the whole process of purchase of a lovely original 1972 T100R Daytona so smooth and worry free. 

Grateful thank-you


David H.

Stockton

May 2021

1970 Triumph T120

 

I have recently purchased a Triumph Bonneville from Rob Jones which he had taken on as an unfinished project and completed himself.  Rob's passion for and hands on knowledge of British bikes is obvious across all marques but particularly so when it comes to Triumph twins.

In this case  Rob had taken a great deal of time and care with the bike and his standard of work and attention to detail is both exceptional and meticulous. He was also happy to spend time discussing with me all aspects of the work completed and previous history as well as answering any questions I had.  

As a result of my purchase I then had a bike to sell which I did not really relish doing, given the time and effort this usually takes.  Rob agreed to sell the bike on my behalf and did a great job. He was able to help in pitching it at the right price, took some great photos and did all the negotiations with interested parties and the eventual purchaser, making sure I got a fair price.  He also took responsibility for transporting the bike to the new owner, something that can be a huge hassle in itself given that prospective classic buyers tend to be from all over the country rather than someone local.  

It was pure chance that I stumbled upon Rob's website and having had mixed results over the last few years with bike purchases and sales I am naturally very cautious.  In this case I have to say that  It was a genuine pleasure to do business with him and I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone thinking of purchasing a bike or wanting some assistance in selling their own bike without all the usual time and often wasted effort this involves.

David Bullock

Manchester

May 2021


BSA A7 1959

Many thanks Rob - the sale of the BSA A7 could not have been better,extremely good communication throughout,a pleasure to do business with,highly recommended - thankyou

Dave Ashcroft
Manchester
October 2020


Triumph TR6 Project.

I recently purchased a Triumph TR6 project bike from Rob and would just like to say thank you for being so helpful and accommodating.
It was a pleasure doing business with you I wouldn't hesitate to deal with you again in the future and would happily recommend you to others.

Thanks again Rich
September 2020

1980 T140E Triumph Bonneville.

 

I hope this review eases any concerns anyone has with regard to dealing with Rob.

I had to sell my bike due to struggling with the clutch following hand surgery.

After meeting and tallking to Rob I literally gave him full control of advertising and selling my bike.

After a while Rob called me and asked me to drop the bike off for a viewing.

I dropped the bike off at 9.30 in the morning.

By mid afternoon the bike was sold and the agreed amount had been put in my account.

By 8.00pm in the evening Rob had delivered the bike to it's new owner.

Amazing service from start to finish.

Rob's work is there to see in the bikes he owns, outstanding examples of 50 and 60 year old motorcycles with 'nut and bolt' restorations carried out.

He is genuinely passionate and knowledgeable about Classic Motorcycles.

 

Thanks Rob.

 

Steve Whitnall.

Urmston.

Manchester.

July 2020

1963 Triumph T120

I would like to give a big thank-you to Rob of R A Jones Classic motorcycles for the help he gave me to sell my Triumph motorcycle.

He advertised it on his website and within a week we had four people interested.To cut a long story short he sold the bike to a German gentleman,Rob made all the arrangements including the shipping all I did was receive my cash.

If you have a bike to sell and don't want the hassle give Rob a call

Thanks again Rob.

Gareth Davies

Llaneli

Wales

February 2020

Triumph Thunderbird

Rob,

Many thanks for the Triumph Thunderbird project I purchased from you,having looked through all the boxes I'm very pleased.

Once again many thanks.

Mr Mark Spencer

Leicestershire

February 2020

Triumph Trophy TR6 1956

I found Rob to be a very friendly and honest man to deal with I would gladly use him again.

Peter Twentyman

Bolton

October 2019

James Platt 2017

I met Rob Jones as a result of reading an article in The Classic Motorcycle magazine.

One of Rob's customers had written in to commend the work he had done on a Norton 500T.

The article reflected well on Rob's high standards.  This was of much interest as I owned a couple of old trials bikes at the time - an AJS 16MC & a 1950 Norton.

Both bikes had been in storage for a long time and I needed to sell them as I was now 70 and was struggling to kick the things over, let alone ride them off road.

I was also spending more and more time in Menorca.

So enter Rob... Firstly he got the AJS sorted and allowed a successful sale to proceed. Next (with me back in Menorca) he collected the Norton from a storage unit I was renting and proceeded to wind up the hire arrangements on my behalf.

He then advised that he might have some interest in the Norton through his network of enthusiasts.  We decided that rather than start recommissioning the bike, we decided to sell it in its current condition.  The price was discussed and I asked him to negotiate on my behalf as I felt totally at ease with the way he was handling it all.

He negotiated a good deal and delivered the bike and banked the proceeds for me.

Thoughout the whole process I was consulted and felt very comfortable that Rob had everything well in hand whilst I remained in Menorca.

I felt so relieved that a considerable weight had been lifted off my shoulders.  The bikes had gone to good homes and I had terminated an expensive period of hire on a storage unit and now had some extra cash.

If anyone is reading this rambling of mine and can identify with any of the issues and needs some help, I can certainly recommend that they have a chat with Rob Jones.

   

   Yours sincerely

   Mr James Platt

   Stretford Gtr Manchester

   21 August 2017

1956 Triumph Tiger 100

Just a quick note to say thank you for the great service provided on the sale of a Triumph Tiger 100 and the personal delivery to my home address.  I hope you have a great future in your classic motorcycle business.

Roger

Bristol

May 2015

1960 BSA Super Rocket

Hi Rob, I've been out for a good run on the bike (1960 BSA Super Rocket) and I'm very happy with it.

The bike ran very well indeed, thank you for all of your help with buying the bike and thanks for taking the time to let me choose the right one.

Best regards Geoff

Mr Geoffrey Hartley

Sheffield

September 2015

1956 Triumph Thunderbird

Looked over Rob's bikes for sale on the web and liked the look of a Triumph that was offerd for sale.

Gave Rob a ring and arranged to visit.  You will find him a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable gentleman.

The condition of his bikes are show class and he will go through all his work done before a sale.

He completes all paperwork and forwards history and will MOT to put your mind at rest.

My brother and I, bought two bikes from him with an agreed delivery in person.

We hope we will continue our new found friendship with him for years to come, I can't wait for good biking weather to get out on both our machines.

Mr David Lane

Derbyshire

December 2015

Brett Wylde

Good afternoon Rob, I just want to say a massive thank you for the Tiger 100.  In the flesh it's better than the pictures.

Thank you for delivering and running through the bike with me and the advice given.

I've been out this morning and she ran like clockwork.  I had lots of admiring looks and  comments from other bikers some of whom took photos and asked me where I got her from.  Once again, thank you for a most professional and personal service.

P.S let me know what other bikes you have coming through.

Best Regards

Mr Brett Wylde

May 2017

Paul

A Norton Job Well Done

A few years ago I mentioned to my wife I’d quite like to restore an old motorcycle. My ownership history is mainly Japanese machines. But she suggested I look for a Norton 500T, as this was the bike her father owned when he was courting her mother.

Paul McCarty’s Norton, now going as its maker intended.

After a few months of searching, one appeared on the Bonhams 2010 Stafford show auction. We bought it over the phone.

When we went to collect it, one of the Norton owner guys approached me and asked if I “knew what I had there”. I just answered a 500T. He then explained that the rolling chassis is believed to have been used by Geoff Duke.

 

The bike hadn’t run for some time when we bought it so we had the engine and gearbox rebuilt, I reassembled the bike and although it was rideable, there was no joy to be had in doing so!

I then read the article you did on the BSA (March 2016) that Rob Jones had restored. It looked fantastic and as Rob was only a few miles away I contacted him to see if he could sort the bike out. The job he’s done is superb and the bike is totally transformed.

Rob’s obviously doing this for a living and I wondered if it was permissible for me to submit this letter to your magazine extolling the very high standard of work that Rob offers.

Paul

Chesire

January 2017

Pat Jones

Rob just a quick mail to thank you four your hospitality and professionalism on my visit to you, on my visit to view your BSA A7ss Shooting Star.

The motorcycle was described correctly by yourself and the photographs, I have now ridden the bike for 128 miles around the New Forestwhere I live with no problems only adjusting the controls to suit myself.

I have ridden BSA's for 55 years my first being a 1954 A7 ( 157.00 ) followed by a DB34 clubman and RGS now going back to my youth to the A7ss for the ease of starting and reliability.

Thanks for a very easy straight deal and delivery to my home in the south of England.

Best Regards to yourself and your father

Pat Jones

Lymington

South England

March 2015